×
Menu
Index

System settings

User auto logging off. To ensure users do not remain logged in, Enable auto log off and specify when the shift usually ends.
The system will automatically log users off at the shift time.
The auto log off feature executes at the time selected in the Check if users have logged off at this time field.
This feature ensures other staff do not perform tasks under a signed in user account.
This is particularly useful if staff work shifts.
Irrespective of the environment, users that log on to their accounts on other devices will force the termination of open sessions on the previous device they were using.
iTech Facilities Management does not allow multiple log ins on multiple devices for a user for security purposes.
 
Automatic email sending settings. Should you wish to email booking confirmations, invoices, quotations, purchase orders etc. directly from iTech Facilities Management, complete the email fields accordingly.
These are your organisation email details and are applied to all automated emailing options performed by all users.
If users are required to use their individual email accounts, do not specify any details in the applicable fields.
Users will then prepare the documents (in PDF or similar format) and then manually attach to emails to be sent to the respective recipient/s.
Test the email settings using the option provided before committing changes.
iTech Facilities Management uses CDO for direct emailing of documents. Due to conflicts with certain Outlook releases, this feature may not be available on all clients.
 
Back office. If you have paid for the Cloud backup option, you may specify the days of the week and time on which you would like the system to upload your current data and all supporting files.
The Navigator must be active for the backup to run therefore ensure you do not specify a backup time later than the Check if users have logged off at this time value (if you wish to use the auto log off feature).
To obtain a copy of your backup in the event of a disaster, email support@itechsupport.org and include your client request code and organisation name and we will assist you in getting iTech Facilities Management up and running in no time at all.
See below regarding Backing up.
 
Updates. If the Disable automatic updates option is not checked, the Navigator automatically checks the web server for any patches and updates upon launch.
This applies to any windows based client.
Licence renewals provided by iTech are automatically downloaded and processed.
In the event of a major update becoming available, you will be prompted accordingly with the option to redirect to the download page on the website.
Browser based clients will not be given the option to redirect to the download page.
It is highly recommended that a server administrator backs up the FBM share folder before installing any major updates, in particular the facman_be.mdb database file.
Download the updates (at the bottom of the  www.itechsupport.org\downloads.html page under the UPDATE heading), unzip and run the installer.
Major updates will always have a client update and a server update. As with the initial installation, run the server update on the server and the client update on each of the clients.
If the Disable automatic updates option is checked (not recommended) all clients will be required to manually check for updates periodically.
 
To force an update, log into the Navigator and use the Update option in the main form.
You will be disconnected (logged out of any open modules) if there are any updates.
Updates to the modules are localised (i.e. only apply to the local windows device).
 
Certain updates may include additional features which impact on user permissions.
Apart from the administrator, all new permissions are automatically set to disabled for existing users.
If a user cannot access the new feature, update their permissions accordingly.
 
If you did not allow the Navigator access through the firewall or you are using a third party firewall, you may need to configure that manually.
The Navigator.exe requires access on Port 21 to the www.itechsupport.org domain.
The automatic update will timeout after approximately 1 minute if the firewall is blocking in and/or outbound traffic from the Navigator!
 
NOTE: The update feature can consume up to approximately 40MB of data per client and the server depending on what updates are available.
 
Error logs
In the event of an error, the error log is submitted to the developer for review.
You can disable this option by selecting the Disable automatic submission of error logs option.
 
Polling. The reminder polling value can be set to zero.
The flashing exclamation in applicable forms will be switched off.
The other two options require a value, the minimum being “1”.
Network traffic is increased slightly the lower these values are.
In high user environments you may want to increase the poller values upwards.
System underlying data changes and the speed at which messages are delivered in the messaging service are controlled by the system poller value.
Termination calls (e.g. the administrator disconnecting a user or a user logging off from their Navigator) is controlled by the termination poller value.
It is highly recommended that the default values of “1” and “1” respectively remain unaltered.
 
Backing up. The Cloud backup feature is available as an automated service or as an option in the Navigator.
The Administrator and authorised users (the ‘Perform Cloud backups’ permission must be given to the user for the Administration module) can perform a manual Cloud backup.
Cloud backups are restricted to one successful daily backup.
So too, the automated Cloud backup service will not run if a manual Cloud backup was successfully completed on the same day.
The Navigator must be running under the Administrator or an authorised user’s account on the day/s and around the time specified for the automated Cloud backup to run.
If the Administrator or an authorised user logs on after the scheduled time on which a backup has been scheduled, the Cloud backup is run a minute after successful log on.
If an automated or manual Cloud backup fails, the Cloud backup feature can be run again using the option in the Navigator.
A failed automatic Cloud backup results in a retry attempt every 15 minutes until it succeeds or midnight is reached.
After midnight, the automatic Cloud backup settings for the new day are applied and normal automated Cloud backup services resume.
Review the System log if you wish to assess if an automated Cloud backup was successful.
Review the Error log in the case of failure.
See Audits for further details.
 
An orphaned “Backup.lok” file may remain in the FBM shared folder due to a system failure (e.g. power outage) whilst a backup was being performed.
If you are unable to backup due to this (i.e. you are informed that “Cloud backup currently in progress!” when you attempt to manually run the Cloud backup option) delete the “Backup.lok” file from the FBM share folder and try again.
DO NOT DO THIS IF A BACKUP IS IN PROGRESS!
 
Backup durations will depend on how many maintenance/project images there are, how many documents have been assigned to bookings and other schedules and the size of the database.
If the backups are large and taking too long due to your connection speed, consider doing a manual backup as detailed below.
As a rule, backups should be performed either before or after normal working hours.
Compact and Repair from time-to-time to reduce the size of the database and ensure it is error free.
 
NOTE: Cloud backups can consume significant quantities of data depending on the size of the database and the number of images and other support documents added by users.
Compact and Repair the database periodically to reduce its size.
 
To restore your data from a Cloud backup, contact support@itechsupport.org and provide your organisation name and client code. We will guide you through the process.
 
If you do not wish to subscribe to the automated Cloud backup feature, it is highly recommended that all data is backed up regularly.
The following data contained in the FBM share folder should be included in your manual backup:-
If one or more of the folders are not included in your backup, upon a system restore you may lose the physical documents (Docs folder) attached to bookings, schedules and images assigned to scheduled tasks (SchedImages folder) and the background image for the facility locator as well as any pins (Maps folder).